Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH has developed an innovative flywheel storage system and a new business model for stabilizing power grids. The storage system can increase the share of renewable energy in the electricity grid, while at the same time reducing the CO2 emissions associated with electricity provision by up to 140,000 tons per flywheel storage tank per year. In addition, the high dynamics of the storage system improves the stability of the power grid.

Unlike all commercially available flywheel storage systems, an internal shaft is dispensed with. The design has a larger energy content, is easier to manufacture and more efficient in operation. The adaptation of the capacity and performance of the energy storage system is cost-effectively carried out by the modular concept developed by the founding team. The different variants of the storage system are implemented using 95% equal parts. The required total performance of a storage system is achieved by several parallel systems of the same design. As the only commercially available energy storage system, the storage system allows to precisely adapt the properties of the storage to the respective power grid. From the customer’s point of view, this drastically reduces the acquisition and operating costs for dynamic power grid stabilization. Especially in sparsely populated areas with low economic power (e.B. settlements in Africa, Siberia, Australia), the use of the product is a measure against the common energy poverty of the inhabitants. Adaptive Balancing Power offers individual storage solutions for island networks and industrial customers on the one hand, and standard products for interconnected networks on the other.

Adaptive’s customers include municipal utilities, power plant operators and grid operators. By upgrading their existing facilities with the storage system, they can generate annual additional revenues of more than €110,000 per MW in the control power market. Thanks to the modular system developed by Adaptive, the storage system is always precisely adapted to the requirements of the respective customer. Combined with the almost unlimited service life, the product provides dynamic grid stabilization more cost-free than any other existing solution.

Key Facts

Incorporation:

Register:

Capital stock:

Contact

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH hat einen innovativen Schwungmassenspeicher und ein neues Geschäftsmodell zur Stabilisierung von Stromnetzen entwickelt. Mit dem Speichersystem kann der Anteil erneuerbarer Energien im Stromnetz erhöht werden, gleichzeitig werden die mit der Strombereitstellung verbundenen CO2-Emmissionen jährlich um bis zu 140.000 Tonnen pro Schwungmassenspeicher reduziert. Zusätzlich verbessert die hohe Dynamik des Speichersystems die Stabilität des Stromnetzes.

Anders als bei allen kommerziell verfügbaren Schwungmassenspeichern wird auf eine innenliegende Welle verzichtet. Das Design weist hierdurch einen größeren Energieinhalt auf, ist einfacher in der Fertigung und effizienter im Betrieb. Die Anpassung der Kapazität und Leistung des Energiespeichers erfolgt kosteneffizient durch das vom Gründungsteam entwickelte modulare Baukastenkonzept. Die verschiedenen Varianten des Speichersystems werden unter Verwendung von 95% Gleichteilen umgesetzt. Die geforderte Gesamtleistung eines Speichersystems wird durch mehrere parallel betriebene Systeme der gleichen Bauart erreicht. Als einziger kommerziell verfügbarer Energiespeicher ermöglicht das Speichersystem es, die Eigenschaften des Speichers an das jeweilige Stromnetz exakt anzupassen. Aus Kundensicht werden hierdurch die Anschaffungs- und Betriebskosten für die dynamische Stromnetzstabilisierung drastisch reduziert. Besonders in dünn besiedelten Gebieten mit geringer Wirtschaftskraft (z.B. Siedlungen in Afrika, Sibirien, Australien) ist der Einsatz des Produktes eine Maßnahme gegen die häufig anzutreffende Energiearmut der Einwohner. Adaptive Balancing Power bietet zum einen individuelle Speicherlösungen für Inselnetze und Industriekunden, zum anderen Standardprodukte für Verbundnetze an.

Zu den Kunden von Adaptive zählen Stadtwerke, Kraftwerksbetreiber und Netzbetreiber. Diese können durch ein Upgrade ihrer bestehenden Anlagen mit dem Speichersystem jährliche Mehrerlöse von über 110.000 € pro MW im Regelleistungsmarkt erzielen. Durch das von Adaptive entwickelte modulare Baukastensystem wird das Speichersystem hierbei immer exakt an die Anforderungen des jeweiligen Kunden angepasst. In Kombination mit der nahezu unbegrenzten Lebensdauer erbringt das Produkt die dynamische Netzstabilisierung günstiger als alle anderen existierenden Lösungen.

Stammdaten

Gründungsjahr:

Handelsregister:

Stammkapital:

Kontakt