PV2+ GmbH

Researchers at Fraunhofer ISE have developed a process that makes it possible to replace silver with copper in solar cells. The spin-off company PV2+ is to market the new technology.

A team of researchers led by Dr. Markus Glatthaar, an expert in metallization and patterning, has developed an electroplating process that replaces silver with copper in the promising heterojunction technology. Copper is many times cheaper and more readily available.

To prevent the entire electrically conductive surface of the solar cell from being electroplated with copper, the areas that are not to be coated must be masked beforehand. These areas receive an electrically insulating coating that prevents galvanic deposition. Thus, the copper layer grows only in the non-insulating coated areas.

The researchers have made a second significant advance here: To mask the silicon wafer in the electrolyte bath, the industry previously used expensive polymer-based coatings or films. Proper disposal of the polymers is costly and causes a lot of waste. Glatthaar and his team succeeded in substituting the polymers with aluminum. Like copper, aluminum can be fully recycled. The double switch – from silver to copper and from polymer to aluminum – also brings a double advantage: the production of solar cells becomes more sustainable and at the same time significantly cheaper.

Key Facts

Incorporation:

Register:

Capital stock:

Contact

PV2+ GmbH

Forscher:innen des Fraunhofer ISE haben ein Verfahren entwickelt, mit dem es möglich ist, Silber bei Solarzellen durch Kupfer zu ersetzen. Das Spin-off-Unternehmen PV2+ soll die neue Technologie vermarkten.

Ein Team aus Forscherinnen und Forschern um Dr. Markus Glatthaar, Experte für Metallisierung und Strukturierung, hat ein Galvanikverfahren entwickelt, bei dem das Silber durch Kupfer bei der vielversprechenden Heterojunction-Technologie ersetzt wird. Kupfer ist um ein Vielfaches preiswerter und leichter verfügbar.

Damit nicht die gesamte elektrisch leitfähige Oberfläche der Solarzelle galvanisch mit Kupfer beschichtet wird, müssen zuvor die nicht zu beschichtenden Bereiche maskiert werden. Diese Bereiche erhalten eine elektrisch isolierende Beschichtung, die eine galvanische Abscheidung unterbindet. So wächst nur in den nicht isolierend beschichteten Bereichen die Kupferschicht auf.

Die Forschenden haben hier noch einen zweiten wesentlichen Fortschritt erzielt: Für die Maskierung des Silicium-Wafers im Elektrolyt-Bad setzt die Industrie bisher teure Lacke oder Folien auf Polymer-Basis ein. Die fachgerechte Entsorgung der Polymere ist aufwändig und verursacht viel Müll. Glatthaar und seinem Team ist es gelungen, die Polymere durch Aluminium zu substituieren. Ebenso wie Kupfer lässt sich Aluminium vollständig recyceln. Der doppelte Umstieg – von Silber auf Kupfer und von Polymer auf Aluminium – bringt auch einen doppelten Vorteil: Die Herstellung der Solarzellen wird nachhaltiger und gleichzeitig deutlich kostengünstiger.

Stammdaten

Gründungsjahr:

Handelsregister:

Stammkapital:

Kontakt